Tanzanian-German Centre for Eastern African Legal Studies
at the University of Dar es Salaam School of Law in cooperation with the University of Bayreuth

TGCL Alumni Association

The TGCL Alumni Association is the basis for the centre’s alumni activities. It was founded by TGCL Alumni in 2011 and is supported by the TGCL and the DAAD.


The Centre’s Alumni Association seeks to nurture personal ties created during the period of training and research in TGCL's LLM and PhD programmes.

The Alumni Association promotes cultural, legal and educational exchange activities between the East African Community Partner States and the Federal Republic of Germany, as well as collaborating with other DAAD Alumni Associations.


Board Members

TGCL Alumni Association Board Members:

President: Naomi Gichuki
Secretary: Denis Bikesha
Country Representative Burundi: Patrick-Didier Nukuri
Country Representative Kenya: Rhoda Rutto
Country Representative Rwanda: Jolly Ntungire
Country Representative South Sudan: Santa Jima Justin Ali
Country Representative Tanzania: Magdalena Sylister
Patron: Hon. Judge (Rtd) Dr Steven Bwana